DIY fermenter and my first attempt at saurkraut

Today I made my own fermenter out of an old olive jar and an airlock I bought at at thrift shop ages ago.

I got a “grommet” from the brew shop, and then came home and drilled a hole in the plastic lid of the olive jar.

I sterilised all the bits and then used this recipe for hot pink jalapeño garlic kraut.  Except I used half regular cabbage and half red cabbage cause that is what I had around.  I ended up using about 2 kgs of cabbage so upped the garlic, chilli and salt accordingly.  I hope even though it’s only 50% red cabbage it will still end up looking awesomely hot pink!

I’m excited to see if my experiment works!  I have always wanted to try fermenting foods but was too worried about doing it all wrong.

Now that I have mastered pickling and preserving (and haven’t died from eating contaminated food) I am getting more adventurous.

I’ll be sure to update this blog with the results.

fermenter

Leave a comment