Bonjour, 2011!

Inspired by Heidi’s end-of-the-year wrap-up post, and Harper’s Index, I thought I would do something similar.

It’s now 2011 here in New Zealand.  Unlike previous years, where I would go out and get schlitzed, last night Ticker and I stayed home and spent the evening making and eating various assorted appetizers (Blue cheese, walnut & pear canapes, caramelized onion and cream cheese canapes, chicken pesto and tomato phyllo triangles, feta and spinach phyllo triangles, mushroom and spinach phyllo triangles, pear, cranberry and walnut phyllo triangles) We did split a bottle of wine and a few beers, but I actually woke up this morning, not hung over, for probably the first New Years Day since I was 21.  And then – I went out for a jog!  Unheard of for the usual first of January in North America. Anyway, here is a bit of a wrap up for 2010 in facts and figures:

  • Number of words written so far on my thesis: 18,000
  • Total number of academic words written in the last year: 30,000+
  • Number of plants killed: 3
  • Number of books read for pleasure: 2 (both prior to March)
  • Number of scholarly books and articles read: 200+
  • Number of unopened issues of the New Yorker in my house: 3
  • Time it generally takes me to go through 1 issue of the New Yorker: 2 -3 weeks
  • Number of knitting projects finished: 4 (3 pairs of socks, one tea cozy)
  • Number of sewing projects finished: 4+ (3 dresses, 1 pair of shorts, lots of alterations)
  • Number of countries visited: 3 (USA, Canada, New Zealand)
  • Number of restaurants eaten at in Wellington: 15
  • Number of liters of tea consumed: 475
  • Number of times I swum in the ocean: 2
  • Number of new things I learned how to do: 5+ (sew an invisible zipper, “turn the heel” of a knitted sock, navigate Wellington streets, make kolachkies, use APA citation style, and so much more!)
  • Favourite album of 2010: How to decide!??!!

Anyway, I’m looking forward to 2011 being a good year.  It certainly seems to be starting out good!  I’m not making any resolutions this year.  I’m just resolving to be fitter, happier, and more productive.

Leave a Reply

