Cookie Time

Just because I have been dilatory in my blogging responsibilities does not mean I have not been baking!  On the contrary, I have been ingesting so many homemade sweets and treats lately I think I have developed a new cavity in one of my molars.

Anyway, in honour of American Independence Day (4th July), I baked some of my favourite American cookie treats.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

The Joy of Cooking’s Oatmeal Raisin cookies recipe produces the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have ever had.  Between the last edition, and the new one, the name changed from “Classic Oatmeal Cookies” to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”, which threw me off for a while, but I realized it is indeed the same recipe.  Ths is probably my most-often-baked recipe from the Joy of Cooking.  I can easily put away a half-dozen of these cookies in the blink of an eye.  There are 2 important elements to this recipe –

1.) Don’t over-cook.  Even if they don’t look done, take them out of the oven after the alotted time has elapsed!

2.) Use whole rolled oats. Don’t use that nasty instant oatmeal shit.  You want the kind that you have to cook for 45 minutes to make porridge.

Preheat the over to 350 F.

Whisk together

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg

Beat in a large bowl:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsps vanilla

Mix into the flour mixture, then add:

  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3 1/2 cups rolled oats

You can also add chopped walnuts, or, for a New Zealand twist, shredded coconut, like Anzac Biscuits!

Put 2 tbs dollops of batter evenly spaced on a greased baking sheet, and bake for 12 – 14 minutes.

YUM!

One thought on “Cookie Time

  1. I think that this is also my most frequently prepared Joy of Cooking recipe, though I tend to go with chocolate chip variant. That being said, it has been at least a few months since I last baked a batch, maybe today is a good day to put an end to this drought.

Leave a Reply

