holloway road food blog

So… my housemate has created an official Holloway Road Food Blog – that all of us can update.  That means in the future I will be posting my culinary adventures on that site, rather than this one.  Which leaves me to wonder – What will I put here?

Anyway, in the meantime, here are some pictures of my curry and curry paste, and the pumpkin cheesecake pie I made last night (with low-fat cream cheese!).

YUM!!!

yummy curry
home made curry paste
ginger-pumpkin cheesecake pie!

and… I bought a sewing machine on trademe.co.nz!  As soon as I go to Island Bay to pick it up I’ll get back to sewing!  I can’t wait!

I also got some furniture at some second hand shops in Karori.  Here in New Zealand resale shops, thrift shops, second hand stores, etc. are called “op shops”, which is short for “opportunity shop”.  There are also a fair number of “vintage shops” on Cuba Street, which my housemate Emma calls “Op Shops”, and a number of overpriced junky “antique shops”, that she also calls “op shops”, though I would disagree.  I tried to buy a small 2nd hand lamp from the guy in one shop – he wanted $15 for it!!!  You can buy a NEW lamp for $15 at the warehouse.  JESUS!!!  The guy’s store was so crammed full of junk you could hardly walk.  I wanted to buy a cute polka-dot tie, thinking it’s be a dollar or two.  No – he asked for $10 !!!!  I won’t be going back there again… except maybe to sell some junk when I move!

Leave a Reply

