Martin Luther King Day

mlkihaveadreamgogo I just want to take this opportunity to remind everyone that on 19th January, 2009, we celebrate MLK jr day.  This is one of my favorite holidays.  Martin Luther King was not only an amazing orator and brillant public speaker, he was also a real hero and some one we should all be inspired by.  I made my students listen to some of his speeches yesterday, and tried to teach them about human rights.  Their vocabulary is a little weak in that area so I don’t know how much of Dr. King’s message got across, but I’m glad I had the opportunity to share my appreciation for him with my young Lao students.

I also made them do this worksheet.

mlkworksheet

Anyway, I am back to work at UCL today, trying to get some books donated from India.  As much as I love having Van & Man around, its nice to finally have some alone time!  I spent most of last night cleaning; the bathroom was terrifying.   Today I plan to do laundry, including all my sheets, and get the kitchen sorted.

Van & Man have gone up to Luang Prabang and Phonsavan for a few days.  They’ll be back around the 29th, and then on the 30th we’re having a dj dance party night at Martini! (Flyer coming soon).

I’m posting some more pictures from Amanda’s camera that she took of my Lao friends when they first arrived here.

Leave a Reply

