“in the tubing”

So, Vanessa, Amanda and I went to Vang Vieng for the weekend.  Even though it’s only about 3 hours from Vientiane, I had never been.  I had heard a lot about Vang Vieng, both good and bad, so it was nice to finally get to experience it for myself.  My overall impression was that it’s a really lovely town, and the mountains are awesome, and the Nam Song is beautiful. The whole thing, however, is kind of spoiled by the drunk tourists.  Anyway, we did the “in the tubing”, and I have to say, despite all the drunkads, and the loud, shitty techno music constantly blaring, it was really fun, and I would do it again.  Except I managed to loose my sunglasses.

Some pictures from our tubing adventure:

about 5 seconds after getting in the tube, vanessa cut her foot on a rock.  we had to stop and mop up the blood and bandage her foot with a plastic bag, and then were back on our way.
about 5 seconds after getting in the tube, vanessa cut her foot on a rock. we had to stop and mop up the blood and bandage her foot with a plastic bag, and then were back on our way.
Vanessa "in the tubing"
Vanessa "in the tubing"
we took a break to get some beerlao
we took a break to get some beerlao
Amanda in the tubing
Amanda in the tubing
these were the annoying people i mentioned previously
these were the annoying people i mentioned previously

Some of these people were actually an embarassment to the human race.  I saw a girl in a bikini that had “free jungle trekking” written in permanent marker on her stomach with an arrow pointing down, and another with “up the bum = no babies” on her back.

Who let these people out of their country?

Despite these annoyances, the tubing was great, and when Alana comes here in 2 weeks, we are going again!  Vang Vieng is a really pretty town.  I hope next time I can do some spelunking!

Leave a Reply

