back in vientiane

Hooray!  I’m finally home!

After spending a few days in Bangkok I was so happy to get on the night train back to Laos.  Now I have Amanda and Vanessa staying with me, so I don’t actually have much time to relax.

My trip to Australia was so much fun!  I did a lot of really amazing things.  It’s really beautiful there, and everyone is really fit and sporty.

My first experience arriving back in Asia was to take the bus to Khao San rd to find a cheap guest house.  I found one, at 1 in the morning, and tried to sleep.  This was impossible because there was msuic blaring everywhere.  I finally dozed off for a few hours to be woken up again by loud music at 7 in the morning.   I decided I had to leave – and when I left to find a new guesthouse, walking down the street at 8 in the morning, a drunk tourist stumbled into the middle of the road, and started taking his shirt off.  In the process, he spilled his drink all over me, vodka and redbull or something.  It was pretty awful, and just one of the reasons I am not a fan of Bangkok.

The entire neighborhood of Banglamphu is full of people like that.  Dudes walking around with out their shirts on – I saw some guy who had obviously just gotten a huge tattoo of buddha on his chest. Like wh the hell goes to Asia and thinks to himself -” I’ve got it!  I’m in a developing country, I’ll get a giant commemorative tattoo of buddha on my chest! “.  It’s like the guy who went to Bangkok, Phuket, Pattaya, Phenom Pehn, and tubing in Vang Vieng, and then said “Yeah, I’ve pretty  muh done Asia.”.  He didn’t bother going China or Japan or any of those other less important places in Asia.

Anyway, I think I have more to write about Australia, but I have to go eat lunch now.

It’s really cold in Laos right now, we are all freezing to death.  It was 10 C on the train from Bangkok!!  I could see my breath while I was trying to sleep!

2 thoughts on “back in vientiane

  1. Enjoy your return back to the quiet VTE honey! I got your card a few days ago by the way!! Couldnt believe my eyes, it made my day! You’re a jewel my dear, always putting a smile on my face.
    Take good care of you and enjoy yourself with your friends!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

