AUSTRALIA!!

Merry Christmas from Sydney!

I just got back from a 5-day excursion to the desert of the Northern Territory, and a visit to Uluru.  It was hot, and dirty.

Here are some pictures I have taken so far!

outback34

outback32

After hiking up “heart attack hill” in 40 C heat, I took this picture.

outback31

some of my fellow tourists

outback30

Signage in King’s Canyon

outback291

Some sheer cliff faces in Kings Canyon, which apparently, is a real canyon, as opposed to the Grand Canyon, which is actually a gorge? I don’t really know the difference, but the guy pictures below, our all-knowing guide, Mr. Dan, told me that.

outback28

Headless Dan holding a “Thorny Devil”.  They don’t actually hurt you, they just look menacing.

outback27

A Korean dude, a Dutch dude, and a thorny devil.

outback25

Mr. Dan, the Outback Survival Expert Man, with our campfire.

outback261

That big blurry thing in the back is Ayer’s rock aka Uluru.

outback24

Sunrise in the Northern Territory, somewhere south of Alice Springs.

outback23

On of my fellow tourists Bumjo, and the Olgas, aka the Kata Tjuja, which play some significant role in aboriginal creation stories.

outback22

A view from the first lookout in the Kata Tjuja, only 9 am and already in the upper 30’s C.

outback21

Those are big rocks.

outback20

I wish I was a better photographer, then you might have some idea of the scale of these things.

outback19

This is me and… I’m not sure what.

outback18

Mr. Dan, looking rugged.

outback17

He’s like a younger, sexier Crocodile Dundee.

outback16

Aboriginal rock art paintings at Uluru (Ayer’s Rock).

outback14

Same same as above, but this drawing indicates that this spot makes an ideal location for cooking up some emu meat.

outback13

The big rock I have wanted to see since watching “The Rescuers Down Under” as a child.

rescuersduposter

outback12

More rock.

outback11

I really went there!

outback10

Another S. Korean pal from the trip.

outback9

Me and Bumjo

outback8

This is at sunrise, I look like some kind of hobo hippie sheep herder.

outback7

There are lots of tourists at Ayer’s Rock.

outback6

It’s really big.  This is part of if.

outback5

Here’s another part that goes along with some aboriginal story about the dreamtime.

outback4

Wild camels in the outback.

outback2

My pal Sung.outback1

My pal Bumjo!

sydney1-2

Me and Jamie, my old neighbor from Vientiane, with the Sydney harbour in the background.

sydney1-3

Me and the girls at Watson’s Bay!

sydney1-8

The cutest busker I have ever seen.

sydney2-1

The ghost of Nicole past can be spotted haunting the Sydney harbour bridge area on warm nights in December.

sydney2-2

Opera house !!!  I was really there!!!

One thought on “AUSTRALIA!!

Leave a Reply

