south east asia on a shoestring

vietnamcambodia4

Well, I am back in Vientiane after a whirlwind trip.  It feels like I haven’t slept in years.

Quickly, this was my itinerary:

Ho Chi Minh City to My Tho, Vietnam, by AUNILO bus

My Tho to Chau Doc Vietnam by Vietnamese van, 7 hours of HELL, including a ferry crossing of the Mekong and going through Sadec, formerly the hometown of Margeurite Duras.

Chau Doc to Phnom Penh Cambodia by Boat

Phnom Penh to Siem Reap by bus

Angkor Wat by Bicycle and tuk-tuk

Siem Reap to Vientiane, Laos, by airplane.

Then I cam back friday, taught a class, went to a wedding, and have been going non-stop since.  Back to work today!

angkor4

More pictures coming soon!

Leave a Reply

