Bicycle Halloween costume ideas for good times on 2 wheels!

Standard

One of my favourite cycling events of the year, Halloween Critical Mass, is quickly approaching (26 October).   Before it gets too late, I wanted to start thinking about bicycle-related costume ideas.

Last year I was inspired by this bike-riding cowgirl from a Montreal critical mass years ago to decorate my bike like a horse and dress up as a horse-back riding circus performer like one of these fabulous ladies:

Though I wouldn’t dare attempting such tricks on my bike.

My steel stallion

While I like the “bike-as-horse” idea, there are so many more options.  At last year’s ride we had an awesome Harry Potter Quidditch duo on bicycle-broom-sticks, a bee on a bike, and Bananas in Pyjamas on a tandem!

(Among other great costumes)

But, what to do for this year?

Rather than actually doing any work on my thesis I have been scouring the internet and my brain for ideas.  Here are a few I have come up with.

Tracy Morgan dressed like a cellphone riding a bike.
Elliot from E.T.
Peewee Herman, on his beloved bike!
David Byrne, looking dapper as always with his bicycle.

I must stop for a moment and brag about the fact that once I met David Byrne.

Paperboy, dog optional.
Or, better yet, the paperboy from Better Off Dead?
Pretty awesome bike jockey!
The Wicked Witch of the West… you even get your own theme music!
Audrey Hepburn is classically cool.
Jacques Tati from Jour de Fete?
Data from The Goonies… or go as any of the Goonies!
Brigitte Bardot in “And God Created Women”
Vintage Bike Polo girl… may help if you have actually played Bike Polo (Saturdays 2 Pm Aro Valley basketball court).
Miss Piggy, Kermit the Frog, any of the other Muppets on bikes.
Bill Murray or Jason Schwartzman from Rushmore
Kevin Bacon from Quicksilver. I have never heard of nor seen this movie but it could be a cool look for fixie riders!
Napoleon Dynamite… bonus tow rope for your pal on roller blades!
How about a singing bicycle riding nun?!
 

A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle… maybe fish DO need bicycles? In which case, I better find a man!

Perhaps a gallant knight atop a fixie steed?

Bike-as-wooly mammoth + cave person?

Or, turn your bike into a white wolf and dress up as San the wolf princess!

I am hatching an idea that I do not intend to give away here lest some one steal it, but if you have any other suggestions please contribute!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Halloween Critical Mass! | Cycling in Wellington

  2. Pingback: Beerlao Music Zone 2013 4sh

Leave a Reply

